President-elect Droupadi Murmu to be sworn-in as 15th President of India on Monday

New Delhi. The swearing-in ceremony of President-elect Droupadi Murmu will be held at the Central Hall of Parliament on Monday. She will take oath as the 15th President of India. Ms Murmu is the first tribal who will hold the counry’s top constitutional post. Droupadi Murmu, the NDA’s presidential candidate, was elected President, defeating Opposition nominee Yashwant Sinha.
It may be noted that Draupadi Murmu had registered a historic victory yesterday becoming the first tribal lady to reach the highest office of the country. Yesterday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi had visited her and congratulated Murmu on her victory in the presidential election. PM Modi said that India has created history by electing a leader born in a tribal community from a remote part of eastern India as the President. Union minister Rajnath Singh congratulated Murmu on her “impressive” victory in the presidential election and said her victory was a sign of the strength of Indian democracy.

President Ram Nath Kovind had also greeted Draupadi Murmu on being elected the next President of the country. In his tweet, President Kovind said, “Heartfelt congratulations and best wishes on the election of Mrs. Draupadi Murmu as the 15th President of India.”

Ahead of the swearing-in ceremony of the new President, Parliament will host a farewell to the outgoing President Ram Nath Kovind in the Central Hall this evening. Tomorrow, President Kovind will deliver his farewell address to the nation.

Meanwhile, In view of the swearing-in ceremony, the Department of Personnel and Training has issued orders directing partial closure of certain Central government offices. The construction work of the new Parliament building also needs to be kept on hold during the time of the ceremony. As per the order, a total of 30 offices and buildings are required to be vacated by 6 AM on Monday for carrying out an anti-sabotage check. This exercise will continue till the ceremony is over. The buildings that would be vacated early include South Block, North Block, Rail Bhawan, Krishi Bhawan, Shastri Bhawan, Sanchar Bhawan, PTI Building, AIR, Sena Bhawan, Vayu Bhawan, Udyog Bhawan and Nirman Bhawan among others. These buildings would remain closed from 6 AM to 2 PM on 25th July.

Buland Chhattisgarh

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker